Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Name That Penalty 2

This time it's a snake runner off the break. Once again the player is hit in the legs during the run. The paintball breaks and leaves a mark. The player may or may not have felt the hit. The player dives into the snake and tucks up tight behind snake one.
Based only the information given what is the correct outcome? A) the referee signals the player out and the player is eliminated. B) the referee throws a yellow flag, calls the player out and assesses a minor penalty. C) the referee signals the player out and assesses a major penalty.

9 comments:

Anonymous said...

B. It doesnt mater if he felt the hit or not. He is still playing on, and by doing so he is drawing attention and guns to his position.

raehl said...

Legs are an obvious hit, so at least C, and possibly D, gross penalty, depending on whether the hit is still there when the ref comes to pull the player.

If the player wants A, no penalty, then the player needs to check himself when he gets into the snake (and not remove the hit on the way).

B is only possible if the hit is unobvious - tagged in the pack, or maybe nicks a shoe or breaks but doesn't leave a mark.

Anonymous said...

If the player slides in and makes no attempt to check himself, then a penalty for playing on should certainly be assessed.

Baca Loco said...

Thanks Chris,
You are so reliably predictable on these sorts of things it's positively Pavlovian.

Crusificton said...

Most definitely C. To a ref he's probably trying to hide the hit, assuming the ref saw the hit in the first place.

Paul said...

This doesn't say what he does after getting to the bunker, yeah he tucked in, but the rules allow you to run to your bunker before calling your self hit. The rule is there so you can check your self in a place where you're less likely to get hit. What's the point of that if he's not tucked in?

I think A. He hasn't shot and he hasn't wiped, he's only gone to a bunker and made himself a small target, all allowed by the rules.

raehl said...

Paul, that's true, for the second it takes him to check the hit. If he doesn't call himself out then, it's C. And if he drags the hit along the ground/bunker on his way to getting tight in S1, then it's D.

Crusificton said...

That's why I never said A or B since he did not check himself, unlike in the last Name the Penalty. Since there was no check and it was an obvious hit then he's going to get a major for playing on.

Assuming he didn't feel it he's still playing on even if he's not deliberately trying to cheat.

Raehl is right if he dragged his leg it would be a gross, but that would be outside the scope of the game. If he went in with a hit with the intention of cheating that's a different scenario.

Anonymous said...

Based on your information I'd say A.